X-Rite i1Pro & Eye-OneMatch3 VS SilverFast's v.8 IT8 Aut

I have been using the SilverFast v.8 Demo with my Epson V750 for a little while now and will be purchasing the upgrade.
(Previously used with SF v.6.6)
During emails back and forth they mentioned a coupon code. 25% off the upgrade and their targets when purchased together.
This got me thinking.

Till now I have been profiling my scanner with X-Rite’s i1Pro & Eye-One Match 3 and have been pretty satisfied.
But in my correspondence with LaserSoft they state I will get better results with one of their targets and the Auto IT8 Calibration Feature.
I am not a color expert and that is why I am asking for a little help.

[b][size=150]What provides a “Better” result?[/size]
[/b]Profiling your scanner using X-Rite’s solution (i1Pro & i1Match) OR SilverFast’s solution (Auto IT8 & Their Targets)

Any comments or advice would be much appreciated.
I don’t have any experience with SilverFast’s IT8 auto Calibration and am just looking to get the most accurate scans possible.
Thank you in advance.

I question the methodology that SilverFast suggests. Typically you will NOT want to have a scanner profile affecting the measurement scan of an IT8.

The idea is that you want to measure the scanner and light emitted through the iT8 target in a ‘wide-open’ aspect so that the measurement captures the range adequately, with a neutral/linear condition as possible, and WITHOUT the influence of any color adjustment including that of a profile. On some of the older drum scanners there was a curve adjustment that was used to achieve this state. On the newer flatbed scanners, you will find these settings in the driver software (white balance adjustment, etc.). NOTE… some of these scanner software driver controls are rather austere, some are good.

The best procedure I can recommend is from Don Hutchesons instructions for his wonderful HCT targets.

http://www.hutchcolor.com/HCT_instructions.htm

Hope this helps.